Giants of Cancer Care® Program Inductees


John Minna, MD

University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

  • John Minna, MD, is the Max L. Thomas Distinguished Chair in Molecular Pulmonary Oncology and the Sarah M. and Charles E. Seay Distinguished Chair in Cancer Research in the Hamon Center for Therapeutic Oncology, Internal Medicine, and Pharmacology, University of Texas Southwestern (UTSW) Medical Center.
  • Serves as director of the Hamon Center for Therapeutic Oncology Research and the Moncrief Center for Cancer Genetics, and as codirector of the Experimental Therapeutics Program for the Simmons Cancer Center at UTSW
  • Leads a joint Lung Cancer NCI Special Program of Research Excellence (SPORE) grant between UTSW and MD Anderson Cancer Center (MDACC)
  • Directs a NASA Specialized Centers of Research study on the effects of high-energy particle radiation (found in space) and low-dose gamma radiation (found on earth) on lung carcinogenesis
  • Works with a team of UTSW, MDACC, and Baylor College of Medicine scientists to discover all of the “acquired vulnerabilities” in lung cancer and their associated predictive molecular signatures
  • Served as chief of the NCI-Navy Medical Oncology Branch for the NCI Intramural Clinical Oncology Program for the study of lung cancer
  • Worked with colleagues to establish a large panel of lung cancer cell lines that have provided the basis for many preclinical studies
Back to 2015 Inductees